FIDE World Team Championship: Lineups and group composition

The 12 teams for the FIDE World Team Championship in Jerusalem (November 19-26) have been confirmed.

In the line-ups of the participating teams we find stars like Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Anish Giri, Teymur Radjabov, and Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, along with up-and-coming prodigies like Javokhir Sindarov and Nihal Sarin, and illustrious veterans like Vasyl Ivanchuk and Alexei Shirov.This is the complete entry list:

Alex Holowczak Chief Arbiter
Alexey Root Press Officer
Viswanathan Anand Commentator
Almira Skripchenko Commentator
Ilana David Captain
Maxim Rodshtein player
Tamir Nabaty player
Avital Boruchovsky player
Ilia Smirin player
Evgeny Postny player
Ori Kobo player
Michal Bartel Captain
Radoslaw Wojtaszek player
Mateusz Bartel player
Kacper Piorun player
Bartosz Socko player
Szymon Gumularz player
Igor Janik player
Yurii Gnyp Chief of delegation
Oleksander Sulypa Captain
Igor Kovalenko player
Vasyl Ivanchuk player
Andriy Volokytin player
Kirill Shevchenko player
Vitali Bernadskyi player
Mykhaylo Oleksyenko player
Wen Yang Captain & player
Xu Xiangyu player
Bai Jinshi player
Lu Shanglei player
Li Di player
Jan Smeets Captain & player
Anish Giri player
Jorden Van Foreest player
Lucas Van Foreest player
Max Warmerdam player
Robby Kevlishvili player
Jean-baptiste Mullon Captain & Chief of delegation
Maxime Vachier-lagrave player
Jules Moussard player
Laurent Fressinet player
Maxime Lagarde player
Tigran Gharamian player
Suri Vaibhab Captain
Gujarathi Vidit Santosh player
Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan player
Sarin Nihal player
Krishnan Sasikiran player
Sethuraman Panayappan Sethuraman player
Gupta Abhijit player
Hendrink Petrus Du Toit Captain & Chief of delegation
Kenneth Terence Solomon player
Daniel John Cawdery player
Daniel Barrish player
Banele Fortune Mhango player
Husan Turdialiev Chief of delegation
Ivan Sokolov Captain
Nodirbek  Yakubboev player
Javokhir Sindarov player
Jakhongir Vakhidov player
Shamsiddin Vokhidov player
Abdimalik Abdisalimov player
Ortik Nigmatov player
John Donaldson Captain
Hans Niemann player
Lazaro Bruzon player
Alexander Onischuk player
Varuzhan Akobian player
Yuniesky Quesada Perez player
Javier Ochoa de Echagüen Chief of delegation
David Martinez Captain
Jaime Santos player
David Anton player
Alexei Shirov player
Daniil Yuffa player
Miguel Santos player
Nijat Abasov Captain
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov player
Teimour Radjabov player
Rauf Mamedov player
Aydin Suleymanli player
Gadir Guseinov player
Vugar Asadli player

Under the exciting new format devised for this competition, the participant countries are split into two pools of similar strength, taking as a reference the rapid rating list for November 1st. The four best teams from each pool will advance to the knock-out stage, where they will play Quarter-finals, Semi-Finals, and Final, with each duel consisting of two matches between the teams.

Group A Group B
China Azerbaijan
France India
Netherlands Israel
South Africa Poland
Spain United States
Ukraine Uzbekistan

The time control will be 45 minutes for the whole game with an increment of 10 seconds per move starting from move 1.

The event, organized by FIDE and the Israel Chess Federation with the support of the Israel Ministry of Sport and Culture, will be held at the Mount Scopus Hall in the Dan Hotel in Jerusalem. Former World Champion Viswanathan Anand and the seven-time French Women’s Chess Champion Almira Skripchenko will be the commentators.

The Chief Arbiter for the event will be Alex Holowczak (ENG), with Alon Shulman (ISR) as his Deputy, and M S Gopakumar (IND) as Fair Play officer.

You can read the complete regulations in the FIDE Handbook.

Official website: